Homemade Granola

This is my favorite granola and hails from the Food Network’s Alton Brown. It has a five star rating for a good reason. usually I am the only one who eats granola, no one else in the house usually eats it. That is until I made this recipe. The coconut and granola haters ate it and they ate it quickly.
 photo DSCF2123.jpg
This lead to the doubling of the recipe when I make it. Its gone in a few weeks. This granola makes a really nice yogurt, fruit, and granola breakfast. I like it as a cold cereal or just to eat out of hand. Its sweet but not too sweet and has a pleasant crunch and toastyness to it that I enjoy.

A few things I switched around are I don’t add raisins or fruit to it. I find that when I do that no one eats it, not even me. If I want some dried fruit I put into the portion I am currently eating. the dried fruit starts to flavor the granola. Secondly I ditched the cashews for walnuts. Love walnuts so much and they are easier for me to get hold of.

Granola
3 cups rolled oats
1 cup flaked or silvered almonds
1 cup flaked coconut
1 1/2 cups walnuts
1/4 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup maple syrup
1/4 cup vegetable oil
3/4 teaspoon salt

Preheat oven to 250 degrees. Mix everything up in a big bowl and make sure oats and nuts are will coated. Spread out on a baking sheet, making it even. Place in oven and cook for 1 hour and 15 minutes. Stirring every 15 minutes, this ensures granola will brown evenly.

