Cucumber and Apple Smoothie

This blend makes a pleasantly cucumbery smoothy and sometimes its nice to have a smoothie where the veg shines instead of the fruit. The apple gives it a nice hint of sweetness and body, while the cucumber still shines through. You could use green tea for the base if you want I found a sachet of roobios lurking in my cupboard and decided to use it up. My cukes were in the freezer, if they start to go bad on you cut them into chunks and freeze them. They work great in smoothies since you are blitzing them up.
 photo DSCF2002-5.jpg
Cucumber and Apple Smoothie
2 cups cukes, cut up
1 granny smith apple, cored and chopped
large lemon slice, peeled
2 cups roobios

Put cukes, lemon slice, and apple in blender with your roobios.  Blend it all up. Take about 2 minutes for my blender.

BTW did you miss out on this week newsletter?  Its free, weekly, and you can sign up here.

8 thoughts on “Cucumber and Apple Smoothie

  1. Fun! I never thought of freezing my past date cucumbers. I am so excited to add a little variety to my stash of frozen veggies that I can throw into misc. dishes. Great tip!

  2. Seems like this would be a light, refreshing smoothie! I wonder how it would be with a nice cold mint tea… hmmm, something to try in the summer! Thanks for the inspiration. I’m bookmarking this one, for sure. ~ Sarah

  3. I’ve never thought about putting rooibos tea in my smoothies – will give it a try!

  4. What a great spin on smoothies! I love this recipe and how you suggest freezing. I will definitely have to try this. It seems like it would be a great mid-day pick me up! Thank you!

Comments are closed.