Stuffed Zucchini Recipe and Weekly Menu for 3-16-14

Menu schmenu, this past week I banged out a menu on Saturday and by Sunday I didn’t like it anymore. Haven’t really made any of the dishes that were on my menu other than freezer soup and the stuffed zucchini. I did attempt to make a scheduled meal last night but the lamb shoulder wasn’t thawed enough and I kind of space caked putting it into the oven. Yeah, I started on a move furniture project and forgot.

Sunday – Stuffed Zucchini
Monday – Ginger Pork chops, rice, and asparagus (not the planned meal)
Tuesday – Freezer Soup
Wednesday – Costco
Thursday – Lamb Shoulder, gnocchi, and asparagus Tacos
Friday – Easy
Saturday – Corned beef and cabbage

I keep trying to get the family on board with my tomato sauce over these. There is much resistance so I keep using the tomato soup from a can. Its just how it is sometimes. This recipe is easy to customize use your favorite grain instead of rice (I had leftover rice makes it so easy.) Don’t want meat leave it out. Change up the herbs if you want too. I’ve been on an Italian seasoning kick as of late so that’s what I used.
 photo DSCF2015-4.jpgStuffed Zucchini
1 pound ground meat of choice, I used beef
2 to 3 cups rice
1 teaspoon Italian seasonings
3 oz. feta
1/4 cup pine nuts
salt and pepper to taste
2 to 4 zucchini, depends on size
2 cans of tomato soup or 1 quart homemade tomato sauce
2 cans of water

Brown meat and while that’s happening slice zucchini into boats and scoop out the innards. Rough chop innards and toss them in with the meat when its browned. Finish browning meat scoop off fat if needed. Saute your zucchini insides until soft and add Italian seasoning and salt and pepper.

Put meat in medium bowl with rice and pine nuts and mix. Add about half your feta and stir that in. Place zucchini in 13×9 pan and put stuffing in the hollow. I just pack it on, the best stuffing is what is not in the actual zucchini.

If using the soup option dump it into the bowl with two cans of water and mix it up and pour over it all. If using your own sauce just pour it over. Sprinkle the rest of feta on top and cover with tin foil. Pop into a 400 degree oven and cook for an hour. Check zucchini for softness, you want it to be fairly soft. If you your fork won’t go through cook it longer. Thick zucchini takes longer. So give yourself plenty of time.

