Weekly Menu 2-23-14 and Sweet Potato Fries

I’m in I don’t want to cook dinner mode. I’d rather be cooking for fun than well dinner. Trying to keep it basic and not too crazy since I don’t want to cook dinner. Everyone cycles in and out of I don’t want to cook dinner, it passes. So don’t worry when you get in that mode.

The menu that looks so neat and tidy on here is nothing of the sort. Sunday was supposed to be the steak, but OMG didn’t feel like cooking, that’s a big surprise. Pulled out the Bolgenese one night since I didn’t feel like cooking. Realized that all I had left for red pasta sauces is a lamb ragu. Which reminds me we should have lamb next week. I digress. The point is prepared for the I don’t want to cooks. Having stuff in the freezer makes getting through this much easier.

Sunday – Freezer Soup and corn muffins
Monday – Steak, bulgar pilaf, and the last of the Asparagus
Tuesday – Bolognese and pasta
Wednesday – Sloppy Janes and Sweet potato fries
Thursday -BBQ Ribs, baked potato, green beans
Friday – Easy night Malibu Turkey burgers, oven fries, spinach
Saturday – Stuffed Shells

We love these simple oven fries. I like to use a high heat to get some nice caramelization on them. If they start getting to dark drop the heat down.
 photo DSCF2006-7.jpg
Sweet Potato Oven Fries
Serves 3

1 big and one medium sweet potato, cut up into sticks
1 tablespoon olive oil
Salt and pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 500. Peel and cut up sweet potatoes. Place on baking sheet and toss with oil and salt and pepper. Pop into oven and cook for 10 minutes. Stir after 10 minutes and cook for another 10 minutes stir again and set timer for 10 minutes. Total cooking time is 30 minutes. Sometimes I need to drop the heat down to 450 after the first 20 minutes.

