Weekly Menu 1-26-14 and Chicken Divan Recipe

I knew we were going to have chicken divan sometime this week. Here’s the thing with casseroles they use a ton of pans. If you start from the beginning you have to cook chicken, broccoli and make your sauce than you put it in a baking dish. That’s a ton of dishes for so little.
 photo DSCF2002-4.jpg
Most casseroles I make a big batch and freeze half of of it, so I get two dinners and leftovers for lunch. You feel better with your pile of pots and pans knowing at least one night you don’t have to dirty what feels like a billion dishes.

My other strategy is to make extra food for the casserole. For the Chicken Divan I cooked the chicken on Monday when we had chicken and gravy. I made two packets instead of one. Saturday we had broccoli and made double what I needed for dinner. Since two of my components are already cooked all I need to do is make the sauce and put it in a baking dish which makes it easy peasy.

Sunday – Porcupine Meatballs, potatoes and carrots
Monday – Chicken, gravy, mashed taters, green beans
Tuesday – Pork Chili Verde, hominy, tortillas Pork Quesadillas & hominy
Wednesday – Freezer Soup, rolls
Thursday – Chicken Divan and rice
Friday – Easy night
Saturday – Stuffed pork chops and spinach

Chicken Divan adapted from Savuer. I love this stuff, the almonds on top are so good we like to eat it with rice. We like things saucy so I use 2 cups broth if you like things not as saucy use 1 cup.

1 pound cooked chicken, cut up
2 cups cooked broccoli

Put in 9×13 baking dish and set aside while making sauce.

Sauce
1-2 cups chicken stock
1 cup milk or milk substitute
5 tablespoons butter
1/4 cup flour
3 tablespoons wine
pinch nutmeg
1/4 cup parmesan (optional)
salt and pepper to taste

1 cup Sliced almonds

Melt butter and add flour cook for a two minutes. Whisk in stock and add milk or milk substitute making sure there are no lumps. Bring to a boil, reduce heat and add wine (I use what’s open, sherry works too) and nutmeg. Stir occasionally cook until thickened about 10 minutes. Turn off heat and add cheese if using. Pour over chicken and broccoli. Sprinkle almonds on top.

