Monthly Groove: DIY Risers for a Barbell

This month’s groove is a DIY project. I’m at the point in my lifting plan (NROLS) that I am heading into deadlfits. My 22 pound plates are taller than me 25 pound plates so i start with my 22s but they are only 5 inches high when my starting position should be 8 inches unless I want to lift from a deficit.
 photo DSCF2002-2.jpg
This is one of those things that’s important but for a home gym risers for the barbell, well I can think of other things I’d rather spend my money on. A second set of handles for dumbbells and two more 10 pound plates come to mind. So I thought on this for a long while.

My first inclinations was to hit up our scrap pile of wood. The one big issue there would be needing to make stops for it, heavy things rolling off risers does not sound like fun. I kept that in the back of my mind and kept searching.
 photo DSCF2006-6.jpg
One day as I was pulling a bunch of old magazines out of the crawl space it came to me. Magazines! I have plenty of them. I got out the trusty duct tape and made myself magazine risers. Since they are paper they have more give so my barbell won’t roll off and away when I’m not using it.

This was a simple and easy thing to do. You will need
Magazines
Duct tape or some other heavy duty tape
A ruler

Measure you tallest plate. Mine was 5 inches which meant I needed about 3 inches of magazine height. Stack the magazines, measure, tape up. Repeat to make two. I checked and make sure my magazines were level for my second stack by comparing it to the first stack.

