Doubt and moving Forward

Being a small business owner is probably one of the more terrifying things I have decided to do with my life. At this points it is me and me. No one tells me what to do or create, which I love. Creating programs is something I groove on but when its just you and you it is easy to doubt what is being created.
 photo benegesseritcreed.jpg

January saw the launch of my first program 14 Day Jump Into Healthy. It is my baby. I conceptualized it, wrote it, and marketed it. Its something that I am excited about and believe in. But…

Here’s where doubt comes in. It creeps up on you, tries not to announce itself. Doubt doesn’t want you to know it is there. Lurking in the back of your mind telling you that what you created is no good, not worth it, why would anyone want that. Doubt wants you not believe, it wants fear to set in and for excitement to be extinguished.

Doubt turns to fear, fear to stagnation it douses that inner flame. I know doubt its been in my life before, not skinny enough (I was), not good enough (I am plenty good), not, no, can’t. I’ve lived with this before. It can cripple. The trick is not to let it take over.

Know this, you will always doubt, but its how you respond to doubt that makes the difference. Acknowledge that you doubt and let it go. So simple and sometimes so hard to do. Engage doubt, why do you feel that way? Feelings do not need to be rational. You can feel it and know that it is not true. As Ravi Singh says “if you can feel it, you can heal it.”

In my case I know it is unfounded and remind myself I know enough. I am that person who needed Jump Into Healthy. So I know inside that my doubt is wrong. It can help to go out and find some outside validation. Talking about your doubt and exposing it to the light of day will often dispel it. We all need outside validation form friends, family, or colleagues.

The word I chose for this year is Forward and when my doubt rears its head, I repeat Forward, like I would a mantra. Forward. I shall go forward. I am fearless. I will doubt and not let it destroy what I desire for me. How do you deal with doubt?

5 thoughts on “Doubt and moving Forward

  1. Fantastic post! Doubt can be paralyzing, it can drive us to work harder, or it can be something we pay no mind to. I really like how you say that our doubts don’t have to be rational. Once we realize that, they lose so much power!

  2. What a wonderful reminder Beth! I love that you said “Know this, you will always doubt, but its how you respond to doubt that makes the difference. Acknowledge that you doubt and let it go” . I remember reading once when doubts and fears creep up to ask yourself “what is real and what is true RIGHT NOW” and since your worries are not true right now then don’t give in to them.

  3. We are studying this a lot in our Desire Map Book Club. What helps is focusing on our Core Desired feelings through any process, always asking ourselves, “What do I want to feel?” Doubt comes in when we aren’t doing things that feel good, are not resonating without values. I also love this quote, As Ravi Singh says “if you can feel it, you can heal it.”

Comments are closed.