Roasted Honey Brussels Sprouts and Weekly Menu 1-5-2014

It feels like there’s no lack of ways to cook meat and main dishes for me. What feels like there are never enough new ideas are for my veggies. I’m always on the lookout for a new way to do green beans, brussels sprouts, broccoli. It tends to be the same sautéed, steamed, roasted nothing special but hey it gets the veg cooked.

Toppings can be helpful bacon is tasty with green beans and brussels sprouts. Fresh or roasted tomatoes with green beans is another favorite, as is almondine. Brussels lend themselves well to mushrooms or hazelnuts. We eat the same themes on veggies a lot.

A couple weeks ago I cam across a recipe for honeyed brussels sprouts. I think there was parmesan on them originally in the recipe. But I didn’t follow the recipe as something already had cheese, so it was just straight up honey. Can we say yummy, they turned out seriously yumm-a-liscious!
 photo DSCF2007-4.jpg

Sunday -Steak, honeyed brussels, and rice
Monday – Butternut squash and beef chili (freezer), cornbread
Tuesday – Chicken, broccoli casserole, roasted butternut squash
Wednesday – Lasagne
Thursday – Costco trip canceled/ Bulgar & chicken soup
Friday – Easy night Burgers?
Saturday- Tasty Beef Casserole (freezer)

Roasted Honey Brussels Sprouts
1/2 to 1 pound brussels sprouts, ends trimmed and big ones halved or quartered.
1 tablespoon olive oil
salt pepper
1/2 cup water
1/8 to 1/4 cup honey

Preheat oven to 400. Put brussels in a heat proof pan and toss with oil, salt, and pepper. Add water and pop into the oven and cook for 15 minute. After 15 minutes shake the pan and cook for another 15 minutes. Remove from oven and coat with honey.

Adjust cooking times to your needs. I do not blanch my fresh brussels and find about a half hour works for my oven. You may need less time. Frozen brussels usually roast up nice in about 20 minutes. Roasting caramelizes them and makes them a bit sweeter.

7 thoughts on “Roasted Honey Brussels Sprouts and Weekly Menu 1-5-2014

  1. I can relate to needing more recipes to spice up the veggies. Sometimes it seems like I get into a rut, finding something that works and sticking to it. This sounds absolutely amazing! I usually sauté brussels sprouts so this will be a great new way to prepare them. Thank you for sharing!

  2. Brussels Sprouts as a kid – hated them, spit them out and hid them under the table. Brussels Sprouts as an adult – absolutely love them. Never tried them with honey! Thanks for the tip.

  3. It is easy to get into a rut with our veggies! Just a few years ago I realized I actually like Brussels Sprouts! Roasting them is so easy. This looks like a great recipe!

  4. Pingback: Monthly Groove: Recipes | Beth, Effervescent

Comments are closed.