Monthly Groove: December 2012

I keep asking myself what I grooved on this month other than cookies. I think my main groove was taking it easy and resting. December was not a stellar exercise month for me. Exercise? What’s that?
 photo Rest-does-a-body-good.jpg
Between mojo loss, being busy, and a couple of wonky muscles I’ve done more not exercising than I have in ages. I can’t remember the last time I took this much time off. Its been a very long time.

Resting has been good for the most part and I am always amazed at how much time I have when I do not exercise. That’s when you realize you just spent the time you used to exercise messing around in the internet.

This month’s groove is definitely resting and taking a break from exercise. My mojo is coming back. I no longer think about things I love to do and hem and haw about doing them. Yogaing is back. I feel ready to get back to lifting and do a bit of short running.

Rest does a body good, don’t ignore it especially if you start to hate everything you love to do. Best thing I decided to do this month was take it easy.

What did you groove on for December?

10 thoughts on “Monthly Groove: December 2012

  1. I agree, sometime it’s good to just rest. I took a break from running and only ran a few times in the past couple of months. It was good to stop for a bit. Now I am excited to start again and instead of doing it because I think I have to, I will be running because I want to and enjoying the time outside.

  2. Agreed, this December has been a good time to rest and it is so important to listen to your body and give it what it needs.

  3. Great article! In past years I have just tried to add all of my holiday activities on top of everything else I do on a regular basis. This year I tried to cut back on some of the things I do that won’t end my world if I scale back on them to fit in family and friend time, shopping, ect. It helped a lot with stress and allowed me to enjoy the season a lot more because I didn’t constantly feel the pressure of what I needed to be doing or what to do next. When it comes to exercise, it is important to take rest breaks to let our bodies adjust periodically, I think that December is probably a great month to do so, unless it is your tool for melting away stress. Balance has definitely been a big part of my December!

  4. This month I grooved on trying to do just 1 thing at a time. If I wanted to add something, I seriously looked for something to let go of.
    Rest is a primary nourishment and is completely necessary to vitality and optimal health but which is unfortunately overlooked as an act of laziness. Great post!

  5. I took 9 days off over Christmas and I am so ready to get back in to it.
    We often burn out if we don’t rest, most definitely.
    I now feel inspired and ready to go. It was also a reminder of how much I actually love what I do as I missed working with my clients.

Comments are closed.