Big Batch Cooking

The other day I was talking to my fellow mastermind Ashely about how I do a lot do big batch cooking. She said she was the only one who ended up eating it. My response was I freeze it and serve it as a meal later.

Big batch cooking does not have to mean eat it this week and that’s all you are getting for the rest of the week. Most families are probably like Ashely’s and mine where one person eats the leftover big batch of food. So how do we avoid being the only one eating the big batch?
 photo DSCF2010-3.jpg
Freeze it. I use gallon or quart freezer bags depending on what it is. Soups go into gallons even though its only a quart, its hard to pour stuff into a quart bag. I know people who have containers they use for this purpose. Bags work well for me.

Have a couple extra pans that you can freeze. I have two 10 inch round cake rounds I don’t use often for baking cakes. When I make a casserole I make enough to fill an extra pan. It doesn’t take much more time to make extra for a casserole. Cook once and eat twice, plus leftovers for lunch. That’s a win for me.

If you can freeze it make extra. I do this will spaghetti sauces, meatballs, ground meat, chicken, turkey, pork, and beef. Don’t know what to make for dinner, tired, or sick? Grab a packet out of the freezer and voila dinner!

